Jeremy Corbyn’s Labour is a crucial ally in the fight against antisemitism

Over 200 Jewish members and supporters of the Labour party sign a letter urging that anyone seeking an end to bigotry and racism should back Labour and Corbyn

Letters | THE GUARDIAN | Wed 20 Feb 2019 |

Jeremy Corbyn. ‘Labour governments introduced both the anti-racist and human rights legislation of the 20th century and the 2010 Equalities Act.’ Photograph: Matthew Horwood/Getty

You report (19 February) that a number of implacably anti-Corbyn MPs have left the Labour party alleging a failed “approach to dealing with antisemitism”, with Luciana Berger criticising Labour for becoming “sickeningly institutionally racist”.

We are Jewish members and supporters of the Labour party concerned about the current rise of reactionary ideologies, including antisemitism, in Britain and elsewhere across Europe.

We note the worrying growth of populist rightwing parties, encouraging racism, Islamophobia and antisemitism. In Britain the far right is whipping up these prejudices, a threat that requires a resolute and energetic response. But instead we have seen a disproportionate focus on antisemitism on the left, which is abhorrent but relatively rare.

We believe that the Labour party under the progressive leadership of Jeremy Corbyn is a crucial ally in the fight against bigotry and reaction. His lifetime record of campaigning for equality and human rights, including consistent support for initiatives against antisemitism, is formidable. His involvement strengthens this struggle.

Labour governments introduced both the anti-racist and human rights legislation of the 20th century and the 2010 Equalities Act. A Labour government led by Jeremy Corbyn will be a powerful force to fight against racism, Islamophobia and antisemitism.

It is in this context that we welcome the Labour party’s endorsement of freedom of expression on Israel and on the rights of Palestinians. Labour is correct to recognise that while prejudice against Jewish people is deplorable, criticism of Israel’s government and policies can and must be made.

We urge all who wish to see an end to bigotry and racism, and who seek a more just society, to give their support to the Labour party.

Prof Elizabeth Dore

Prof David Epstein

Prof Gene Feder

Mike Leigh

Prof Mica Nava

Prof Michael Rosen

Prof Donald Sassoon

Prof Avi Shlaim

Gillian Slovo

Prof Annabelle Sreberny

Walter Wolfgang

Prof John Yudkin

John Abraham

Kate Adams

Rebecca Amiel

Ruth Appleton

Tasha Barlow

Graham Bash

Dr Shereen Benjamin

Jeremy Bernhaut

Frances Bernstein

Dr Jon Berry

Cllr Jo Bird

Rica Bird

Frank Black

Jay Blackwood

Pamela Blakelock

Alice Bondi

Tony Booth

Jenny Malca Brown

Peter Buckman

Andy Burkitt

Erica Burman

Samuel Burrowes

Keith Burstein

Rose Challands

Brian Chinnery

Eve Cina

Andrew Clifford

Emma Clyne

Jonathan Clyne

Mike Cohen

Ron Cohen

Amnon Cohen

Ruth Cohen

Kathy Cohn

Rita Craft

Judith Cravitz

Prof. David Curtis

Mike Cushman

Miriam David

Steven Davidson

Hilary De Santos

Alan Deadman

Greg Douglas

Elizabeth Dresner

Linda Edmondson

Ros Edwards

David Einhorn

Mark Elf

Michael Ellman

Prof Debbie Epstein

Javier Farje

Pia Feig

Jack George Field

Arye Finkle

Nick Foster

Roisin Francis

Esther Freeman

Debbie Friedman

Danny Friedman

Kenny Fryde

Carolyn Gelenter

Mike Gerber

Vicki Gilbert

René Gimpel

Prof. Jane Ginsborg

Claire Glasman

Murray Glickman

David Goldberg

Paul Goldman

Simon Goodman

John Goodman

Peter Gorbach

Tony Graham

Rosalind Grainger

Alice Gray

Ilse Gray

Elleanne Green

Heinz Grünewald

Ash Hardenne

Alison Harris

Jeanne Heal

Prof Susan Himmelweit

Andrew Hornung

Katharine Hoskyns

Mike Howard

Jonathan Hyams

Selma James

Lin James

Riva Joffe

Ann Jungman

Michael Kalmanovitz

L Sasha Kaplin

Stephen Kapos

Jenny Kassman

Richard Keidan

Monash Kessler

Jenny King

Godfrey King

Katherina Kohler

Simon Korner

Dr Agnes Kory

Debbie Krantz

Richard Kuper

Jon Kurta

Prof Frank Land

Michelle Laufer

Pam Laurance

Daniel Laverick

Mike Layward

Dr Sydney Leaman

Joanna Leigh

Jessica Leschnikoff

Cllr Leah Levane

Rachel Lever

John Lipetz

Robert Lizar

Ruth Lukom

Simon Lynn

Deborah Maccoby

Dorothy Macedo

Nikki Mailer

Jenny Manson

Jessica Manson

Helen Marks

Stephen Marks

Gillian McCall

Jeff McCracken-Hewson

Terence McGinity

Ros Meadow

Rita Mendelson

Dr Heather Mendick

Angie Mindel

Prof David Mond

Diana Neslen

David Nissen

Gary Ostrolenk

Jonathan Parish

Susan Pashkoff

Helen Pearson

Jacob Prager

Caroline Raine

Reuben Ramsay

Roland Rance

Tom Reed

Jenny Richardson

Siôn Rickard

Prof Marion Roberts

Prof Jonathan Rosenhead

Benny Ross

Carolyn Roth

Richard Saffron

Esther Saraga

Ian Saville

Monika Schwartz

Josepha Scotney

Mike Scott

Amanda Sebestyen

Glyn Secker

Jenny Secretan

Irene Sedler

Marian Sedley

Ruth Selwyn

Brian Shade

Janet Silver

Liz Silver

Ludi Simpson

Pam Singer

Mark Smithson

Stephen Solley QC

David Sperlinger

Ruth Steigman

Dr Alexandra Stein

Adrian Stern

Martin Stevenson

Benny Talbot

Deborah Talmi

Inbar Tamari

Norman Traub

Tessa van Gelderen

Daniel Vulliamy

Brian Warshaw

Sam Weinstein

Charlotte Prager Williams

George Wilmers

Naomi Wimborne-Idrissi

Debbie Windley

Roy Wolfe

Miriam Yagud

Dr Gillian Yudkin